Sunnyside United Methodist Church at 35th & SE Yamhill will celebrate their last worship service on August 30, at 10:30 am with lunch following. This venerable old church has served the community over the past 100 years in many way.
On September 5, the building becomes the property of the Oregon-Idaho Annual Conference. The church building is not on the market. Trustees of the Annual Conference have jurisdiction over sale of the property and have decided to hold on to it for a discernment period until a best option is determined.
The congregation first formed in 1890 where they met in an old shoe factory on SE 36th and Main. In 1891, they built a wooden structure on the current site for a cost of $2,000. The sanctuary of the stone church, still standing today, was built in 1911. At the time there were 420 congregants, one of the largest churches in the northwest. Between 1915 – 1919 membership soared to over 1000.
Unfortunately, the years of change have seen the congregation dwindle to a small group of people whose tithing, along with the other building users, is not enough to afford much-needed repairs.
The building is also home to other tenants who qualify for 501(c)(3) status. They will remain in the building until June 30, 2016.
Sunnyside United Methodist Church is home to Children’s Club, a thirty year tenant; PDX Toy Library; Camp Fire summer Numanu in the City program; Hard Times Suppers; Common Cup homeless shelter; Raphael House; six basketball groups; two AA groups and several other organizations that meet infrequently.
The remaining congregation members plan to explore different churches and other activities to keep them together.
The final Labyrinth Walk will by Thursday, Aug. 6, 7 pm, and all are welcome.