Music of Elizabethan England

The Early Music Guild of Oregon and Musica Maestrale present The Consort of Six: A Concert of Music of Elizabethan England, Saturday, September 14 at Community Music Center, 3350 SE Francis 8 pm. The concert features music written for the standardized 6 part ensemble consisting of lute, violin, recorder, viola da gamba, bandora and cittern.

The repertoire is from Thomas Morley’s Consort Lessons and Matthew Holmes’ Consort books; composers include John Dowland, Thomas Campion, Richard Reade, and Richard Allison. Matthew Locke’s suite “The Flatt Consort” for violin, 2 violas da gamba, and lute will be featured as well. The concert is dedicated to the memory of Jeanne Lynch.

The musicians are Max Fuller, Polly Gibson, Gayle Neuman, Phil Neuman, Eddie Regan, and Hideki Yamaya. The bass and tenor violas da gamba are part of a family of bowed stringed instruments with 6 strings, held between the legs (da gamba), popular from the 16th to the 18th centuries and cousins to the violas da braccio, of which the violin is a member. Gayle Neuman made her violin after a ca. 1533 sketch for the coronation of Anne Boleyn by Hans Holbein.

Admission: $16 general, $13 students and seniors. $2 off the ticket price for members of Portland Recorder Society and Early Music Guild of Oregon.

Music of Elizabethan England

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top