Powell’s Books’ author readings have gone virtual too. This month there are two online reading events especially for kids and families and a young adult book interview

Saturday July 11, 11 am – Kids’ Storytime With Stephanie Campisi, who reads from Five Sisters, her new picture book illustrated by Madalina Andronic. When a great white oak gifts an old man a branch imbued with magic, he carves five wooden dolls “each smaller than the last.” The wooden dolls take on a life of their own as they frolic from one season to the next bringing the old man and his wife a joy they had always longed for.  Registration link: bit.ly/2COplQ.

Saturday July 25, 11 am – Kids’ Storytime With Skylaar Amann, who reads from Lloyd Finds His Whalesong. The rhythm of the whalesong guides the whales through danger and connects them to each other, but Lloyd can’t sing and is too quiet to join in. If he can’t sing, how can he be a part of the pod? One day, he finds a magical, mysterious object with supersonic seaweed strings. An inspiring and whimsical tale about celebrating our differences and finding our unique voices. Registration link: bit.ly/3g4Oqzd.

Tuesday July 7, 5 pm – Paige McKenzie & Nancy Ohlin in conversation with E. Latimer – Not a reading but an interview about their new book, B*Witch, the story of Iris, new girl and secret witch, who wants to get through her first day of school without a panic attack. She gets taken in by three other witches, and it turns out there is another group of witches in their small northwestern town, The Triad. The book has a cast of teens with style, attitude and charm, perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Mean Girls alike. Registration link: bit.ly/3dwD0SV.

The full list of author events is at powells.com.